Alcala bags agri awards

08/09/2009 18:13

LINGAYEN --- Barangay San Vicente of Alcala, Pangasinan amassed awards and collected P2.2 million worth of projects in the recently concluded “Maisan sa Barangay” during its recognition and awarding ceremonies by being proclaimed as winner in the municipal, district and provincial levels at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center Gym last August 28.

            “Napakaganda ng programang inyong inilunsad sa pangunguna ng ABONO Party List at sa tulong ng inyong mga lokal na opisyal sa lalawigan at munisipyo,” Senator Francis Joseph “Chiz” Escudero, the program’s guest speaker, said, as he added, “Ito ang magandang programang pagsisimulan ng tinatawag nating food security mula sa lokal na level, hindi lamang para pagmulan ng kita ngunit para pagkunan ng pagkain sa bawat lokalidad.”

            According to Governor Amado T. Espino, Jr., Pangasinan will remain agricultural for the next two decades, as he said that, “Iniisip po namin, ng aking administrasyon, kung ano ang dapat at magandang gawin para sa ating mga magsasaka at mangingisda.”

            Meanwhile, Vice Governor Marlyn Primicias-Agabas said that “this day is an indication of the true progress of the province, a genuine sign of cooperation and partnership between the provincial government and concerned stakeholders like ABONO.”

            “Our province has reached a milestone in development in terms of infrastructure, education, human resource, tourism, and of course, agriculture,” she said, adding, “It is how it is today because of the able leadership of Governor Espino and because of the alliances we have built and developed with different groups who are willing to help us achieve our vision of making Pangasinan the best place to live, invest, work and raise a family.”

            The vice governor also narrated that the province has forged a memorandum of cooperation with Chengdu, an agriculturally productive province in China, during the governor’s visit to that country, which has agreed to exchange and transfer of successful agricultural technology which benefit Pangasinan farmers and its farming industry.

            “Efforts such as this, which redound to the welfare of our provincemates, are what inspire us to do more, to dream bigger dreams for Pangasinan, to reach higher heights for Pangasinenses and to ultimately be the best and maintain our being a premier province,” she said.

            “Maisan sa Barangay” is a province-wide contest among barangays which is a joint project of ABONO Party List and the Provincial Government of Pangasinan in cooperation with the offices of congressmen Arthur Celeste, Mark Cojuangco, Conrado Estrella III and Robert Raymund Estrella and the Department of Agriculture.

            The winners for the district level were: Barangay Catuday of Alaminos City for the 1st District; Barangay Bongalon of Labrador for the 2nd District; Barangay Pias of Mapandan for the 3rd District; Barangay Imelda od San Jacinto for the 4th District; Barangay San Vicente of Alcala for the 5th District; and Barangay Carmay West of Rosales for the 6th District. 

            The winners for the municipal level of 1st District were: Barangay Boboy of Agno; Barangay Polo of Alaminos; Barangay Carot of Anda; Barangay Macabit of Bani; Barangay Catuday of Bolinao; Barangay San Pascual of Burgos; BArangay Eguia of Dasol; Barangays Babuyan and Bamban of Infanta; Barangay San Pedro of Mabini; and Barangay Siwasiw West of Sual.

            Winners for the 2nd District were: Barangay Buer of Aguilar; Barangay Dumpay of Basista; Barangay Umanday of Bugallon; Barangay Bongalon of Labrador; Barangay Aliwekwek of Lingayen; Barangay Papagueyan of Binmaley; Barangay Olo Cacamposan of Mangatarem; and Barangay Dalangiring of Urbiztondo.

            Winners for the 3rd District were: Barangay Paragos of Bayambang; Barangay Malabago of Calasiao; Barangay Alacan of Malasiqui; Barangay Pias of Mapandan; Barangay Palaming of San Carlos City; and Barangay Erfe of Sta. Barbara.

            Winners for the 4th District were: Barangay Lelemaan of Manaoag; Barangay Lanas of Mangaldan; Barangay Longos Central of San Fabian; Barangay Imelda of San Jacinto; and Barangays Tebeng and Mangin of Dagupan City.

            Winners for the 5th Distirct were: Barangay San Vicente of Alcala; Barangay Palisoc of Bautista; Barangay Sta. Maria Norte of Binalonan; Barangay Panaga of Laoac; Barangay Imbalbalatong of Pozorrubio; Barangay Poblacion Este of Sto. Tomas; BArangay Asan Sur of Sison; Barangay Poblacion of Urdaneta City; and Barangay San Nicolas of Villasis.

            Winners for the  6th District were: Barangay Baro of Asingan; Barangay Kita-kita of Balungao; Barangay Batchelor West of Natividad; Barangay Carmay West of Rosales; Barangay Cauplasan of Sta. Maria; Barangay Lapalo of San Manuel; Barangay San Roque of San Nicolas; BArangay Nangapusan of San Quintin; Brangay Magallanes of Tayug; and Barangay Don Montano of Umingan. (PIO/Rafael Manuel)