And the candidates are...

09/10/2012 21:44

And the candidates are…..

By Janice Hidalgo


    Dagupan City-Three incumbent municipal mayors and one city mayor remain un-opposed with one town all seats un-challenged  for the May 13,2013 Automated National and  Local elections,  this was confirmed after the Commission On  Election has completed its lists of all those who have filed their CoC’s last Friday October 5.

    Urdaneta City Mayor Gregorio Amadeo “Bobom”Perez IV leads the lists being the only city mayor who is running un-opposed for the mayoralty race in the Province of Pangasinan under the NPC ticket.

    It will be recalled that it was during his 1st  term when the city of Urdaneta was consistently adjudged two times by the DENR (Department of Environment and Natural Resources)Regional office and the Regional Development  Council to be the cleanest and Safest City of Region I.

    The City was also a recipient of a Php.20 million pesos Performance challenge fund after the DILG awarded the city to be among the 46 1st to 3rd class cities of the Seal of Good House- keeping last year .

    Municipal Administrator Ronald San Juan in a telephone interview told PangasinanToday that this is first time  in the political history of the said city when a first time mayor runs un-opposed.

    Perez is now running for his 2nd term.

    Meanwhile, the municipality of Sto.Tomas top the post for all seats un-challaged when incumbent and last termer Vice- Mayor Timoteo “Dick”Villar and his team under NPC with Wilfredo Pescador for Vice Mayor and the councils namely Tomas Castanaga, Alfredo Eleccion, Dominador Lardizabal, Jerry Marquez, Benjamin Oculto jr., Eli Ramos, Estephanio Vengco, and Leonora Zarasate filed their CoC’s last week.

    Umingan incumbent mayor Eldred Tumbocon with his Vice mayor Allain Rabang who are both on their 2nd term filed their Coc’s under NPC top the list for the municipal mayor and Vice mayor who are both un-opposed for their positions filed as of date.

    Municipal Administrator Gil Tadeo confirmed to Pangasinan today that it was on 1998 and 2001 when both positions were un-opposed during the election and was at that time the incumbency of today’s Vice mayor Allain Rabang.

    Roberto de Vera who is the incumbent Mayor of San Jacinto and seeking for his 2nd term under UNA ( United Nationalist Alliance )  comes second for the un-opposed mayoralty race, incumbent Vice mayor Rolando Columbres running under NP (Nacionalista Party ) is being challenged by Gerardo Abarcar of Aksyon Demokratico party.

    Silverio Alarcio Jr.comes next after reaffirming his candidacy to run for his second term of office next year when he filed un-opposed under NPC ( Nationalists People’s Coalition). His partymate Rogelio Godoy is challenged by an independent candidate in the name of Fernando Soriano.

     Alaminos City Mayor Hernani A.Braganza who is now on his third term as mayor is now facing a ONE-ON-ONE bout fight for the Gobernatorial race against incumbent Governor Amado T. Espino Jr. who filed his candidacy last October 3.

    Espino is running under the ticket of Nationalists people’s Coalition Party while Braganza runs under the Liberal Party.

    Lean Braganza son of Nani along with incumbent Provincial Board Member Teofilo”Bosyong”Humilde Jr.who is running under the Centrist Democratic Party of the Philippines, former 1st District Rep. Art Celeste running under NPC, Cesar Manzano candidate of UNA and John Natividad who is running independently are all running for the mayoralty race.

    Dagupan City mayor Benjamin S.Lim who filed his re-election bid under NP (Nacionalista Party) is now challenged by incumbent Vice Mayor Belen Tan Fernandez LP (Liberal Party) this was confirmed after a certain Belen Tamondong Fernandez filed her candidacy un-noticed during the last hour of October 5 but withdrew her candidacy this Monday after it was found out by authorities that she was made to file her candidacy after being promised of money and tricycle for his son.

    San Carlos City Mayor Jullier “Ayoy” Resuello’ is now challenged by former mayor Douglas Soriano running under LP, Saturnino Posadas of Aksyon Demokratico and Romeo Cayabyab IND,

    Incumbent Vice Mayor Joseres Bogs Resuello who is Ayoy’s brother is now challenged by LP’s running mate of Douglas Soriano Jack Lester Soriano. 

    At present the Commision on Elections has a lists of 123 mayoral candidates all over the province and 114  vying for the Vice mayoralty race which includes the un-opposed candidates and 957 municipal and city council candidates.

    Atty.Marino V.Salas provincial Election officer in a separate interview reiterated that co-terminus and regular government employees who have filed their Certificate of Candidacy are deemed resigned and should immediately leave their post.